2020 Hall of Fame Inductees



1999 Undefeated State Champion Swim Team

Saint Mary’s School’s Mary Lou Jones Athletics Hall of Fame is proud to announce that the undefeated 1999 state championship swim team will be inducted as the school’s second Hall of Fame class in a brunch ceremony on a date to be determined. The inductions were scheduled for April 3, but have been postponed due to the COVID-19 situation, as we support nationwide efforts at social distancing.

The 1999 team capped off a perfect 19-0 regular season by sweeping the Triangle Independent Schools Athletic Conference (TISAC) regular season and conference meet championships and the North Carolina Independent Schools Athletic Association (NCISAA) championship. It was the first conference title and only state championship in swimming for Saint Mary’s School.
At the 1999 state competition, Saint Mary’s finished first with 103 points, followed by Greensboro Day School (80), Durham Academy (76), Cardinal Gibbons (60), Cary Academy (40, Ravenscroft (33), and Salem (28), and others.

Mary Margaret Gamblin received All-American honors with a time of 57.6 to win the state championship in the 100-meter butterfly. She also finished first in the state in the 100-meter backstroke and joined Rene Bermudez, Adrienne Peacock, and Megan Connole, to win first place at the state meet in the 400 freestyle relay that also received All-American honors. The 200 free relay team of Mary Margaret Gamblin, Rene Bermudez, Megan Connole, and Michaela Idhammar placed first and received All-American honors.

The team was coached by faculty member Kim Gabele in her seventh year as the Saints coach. Assistant coach was Saint Mary’s faculty member Stephanie Gavilan.

The News & Observer wrote about the state championship team saying, “Saint Mary’s swimming coach Kim Gabele’s seven-year building project reached a high point as the Saints captured their first NCISAA state swimming championship, held at the Pullen Aquatic Center. Five freshman played key roles in the Saints’ run to the title – Mary Margaret Gamblin, Rene Bermudez, Sarah Bermudez, Adrienne Peacock, and Megan Connole – made key contributions.

“I went to the University of Michigan, and I guess we had the Fab Five thing going,” said Coach Gabele. “Everybody kept telling me we were the team to beat, but I wasn’t completely sure until December when we beat Ravenscroft, Durham Academy, and Cardinal Gibbons – all the power teams. What made this team so strong, though, is our depth. Our juniors and seniors have made the difference. The really amazing thing is that all of them dropped their times in the state championship.”

Team members:

Kathryn Calder Barmore ’01

Rene Bermudez ’02

Sarah Bermudez ’02

Megan Bolejack ’00

Megan Connole

Chesney Fowler Lajczok ’01

Meredith Friel

Laura Fulcher ’00

Mary Catherine Benson Grew ’01

Lesley Guilmart ’99

Michaela Idhammar Keptura ’00

Min-Jin Kim

Sarah Yarborough Lytvinenko ’99

Katie Mangum ’00

Mary Margaret Gamblin McCamic 

Callie Safley McKenzie ’01

Laura Chilton Midgett ’99

Erin Smither Morin 

Sara Frackleton Passero ’01

Adrienne Peacock

Erin Pope ’02

Carlye Rimmele Rojas ’99

Mary Rudkin ’00

Carolyn Collins Thompson ’01

Winnie Titchener 

Poem Gardiner Turner ’99

Megan Ryan Walker ’99

Liz Weaver ’01

Kim Gabele, Head Coach

Stephanie Gavilan-O’Neal, Assistant Coach