Navigation

Saint Mary's School Profile

 

School Profile 2022-2023

CEEB/ACT School Code 343235

Adam Holden, Ed.D., Interim Head of School
aholden@sms.edu | 919-424-4138
 
Julie Ricciardi, CFRE, Associate Head of School
jricciardi@sms.edu | 919-424-4114
 
Patricia Sasser, Assistant Head of School
psasser@sms.edu | 919-424-4072
 

Hunt Heffner, Dean of College Counseling
hheffner@sms.edu | 919-424-4117

Kyong Lee, Associate Director of College Counseling
klee@sms.edu | 919-424-4069 

Danielle Tanner, Associate Director of College Counseling
dtanner@sms.edu | 919-424-4068

Weldon Jackson Byrtus, Registrar
wbyrtus@sms.edu | 919-424-4008

MISSION STATEMENT 

Saint Mary’s School, a community dedicated to academic excellence and personal achievement, prepares young women for college and life. To accomplish our mission, Saint Mary’s School challenges each young woman to embrace the habits of an intellectual life, engages her with the past and the emerging future, and empowers her to serve and shape her world; fosters in each young woman a spirit of connection to others, guides her in developing her spiritual and ethical integrity, and prepares her to take responsibility for herself and her future. 

SAINT MARY’S SCHOOL FACTS 

  • Founded in 1842
  • 4th oldest girls' boarding and day school in the country
  • Enrollment: TBA students representing TBA states and TBA countries
  • 69 members of the Class of 2022
  • 40% boarding students and 60% day students
  • 32% of students receiving financial aid
  • 100% of graduates attending 4-year colleges
  • 9:1 student-to-faculty ratio; average class size is 15 students
  • 80% of faculty hold advanced degrees in their fields, including 6 PhDs
  • Accredited by the Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS)
  • Member of the National Coalition of Girls’ Schools, National Association of Independent Schools, Southern Association of Independent Schools, North Carolina Association of Independent Schools, the National Association of Episcopal Schools, The Association of Boarding Schools
  • College Counselors are members of the National Association for College Admission Counseling, the Southern Association for College Admission Counseling, and the Association of College Counselors in Independent Schools

 

Click here for the full 2022-2023 School Profile.